For further information on safeguarding please click here.

Calendar of Events

Click here to view upcoming events

School Policies

Click here to view our school policies

Friday 26th May

School closes for half term (2 weeks)

(All Sites)

Monday 12th June

School reopens to staff and children (across all sites)

Sports Day 1

For Aspen, Elder, Holly and Pine (weather permitting)

 1:30pm start till 2:30pm

Sports Day 2

For Beech, Blossom, Chestnut, Maple, Sycamore and Willow (weather permitting)

 9:45am till 11am

Special School Partnerships

Hawthorns School is one of 6 specialist settings in Tameside that work together to continually improve provision for pupils with Special Needs in Tameside. This group is known as the SSSP which stands for the Specialist Support Schools Partnership.

The others are:

Oakdale School – supporting children of primary age with severe and complex needs. Most of our pupils transfer from Oakdale.

Cromwell High School – Supporting secondary aged pupils with Autism (and learning difficulties) and those with severe, complex or profound learning difficulties.

Hawthorns School – supporting children of primary age with complex needs.  Many of our pupils have transferred from Hawthorns.

Samuel Laycock School – Supporting the needs of secondary school pupils with more moderate learning difficulties- including those with Autism.

Thomas Ashton School – supporting pupils with Social, Emotional and Mental Health Needs from KS1-KS3.

Tameside Pupil Referral Service – supporting pupils with Social, Emotional and Mental Health Needs at KS4 and pupils permanently excluded from mainstream schools.

Along with the Everyone Learning Teaching School Alliance, based at Hawthorns School ( we are working together to;

Provide support, challenge and drive improvement across all settings.

Support the wider educational community in Tameside to promote the progress of all pupils with Special Educational Needs.

We focus on joint Leadership and Management Training, Specialist approaches to assessment, meeting pupils’ needs and sharing ideas about the business management of our schools; including developing Governor links. We also support the development of subject provision especially in the areas of The Arts and English/Literacy.