Quick Info


For further information on safeguarding please click here.

Weekly Blog

Stories and information about our School. Click here to view our blogs.


Friday 24th September

Macmillan Coffee Morning

Friday 22nd October

School Closes for half term (1 week)

Monday 1st November

School Reopens for Autumn term 2


There is one local governing body committee for each school within the Trust and each committee meets three times a year. Each local governing body committee is responsible for:

  • ensuring that all young people within their school have access to a high quality education provision in line with the shared mission and vision
  • monitoring the implementation of their school’s annual Development Plan, ensuring that it is delivering against agreed strategic and local objectives and moving the school and the Trust as a whole towards achieving and sustaining a regulatory judgement of outstanding in all areas
  • ensuring that the academic and well-being needs of their young people are being met effectively through the design and delivery of a broad and balanced curriculum which, through the use of personalised, developmental support, helps to maximise each individual’s success and enjoyment
  • ensuring all young people are safeguarded
  • working towards the Trust’s collective published admission number (PAN) being full

The local governing bodies can send representatives to the Internal Management boards to monitor the progress of children and young people. Local governing bodies operate within the scope of the Trustee decision planner.

The governors of Hawthorns school are listed below

New Bridge Multi Academy Trust – Hawthorns School Local Governing Body (LGB) 2020 – 21

Name Position From To Appointed/ Elected By
Fiona Armstrong        Co – Chair of Governing Body 01/06/2019 01/06/2023 Elected by Parents

Rosario Sarno

Co – Chair of Governing Body

15/12/2017 14/12/2021 Appointed by Governing Board
Susan Shaw Local Governor 15/12/2017 14/12/2021 Elected by school staff
Pierre Coiffait Local Governor 01/09/2018 01/09/2022 ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher

Ashley Butterworth   

Local Governor 13/01/2021 13/01/2025 Elected by Parents
Patricia Conaghan Local Governor 13//01/2021 13/01/2025 Appointed by the Governing Board

If you wish to contact one of our Co Chairs of Governors (Mrs Fiona Armstrong  or Mr Rosario Sarno) their correspondence address is

Hawthorns School, Lumb Lane, Audenshaw, Tameside, M34 5SF

Registered Business Interests

Governors Name                       Name & Address of Company or Body Nature of Business Nature of your Interest Name of Family Member and relationship to governor Name of Company or Body Nature of Business Nature of Interest
Fiona Armstrong NONE     NONE      



NONE     NONE      
Pierre Coiffait NONE     NONE      
Patricia Conaghan NONE     NONE      
Susan Shaw NONE     NONE      
Ashley Butterworth NONE     NONE      



Sunnyside Moss Campus,
Lumb Lane, Audenshaw
Tameside, M34 5SF

School Office Hours

M-F: 8am – 4pm
Weekends: Closed

Phone & Email